Chief John Spencer

Chief John Spencer
A growing leader in the Emergency Medical Services/Public Safety field with over 15 years of experience at various levels including regulatory experience gained while working in the Office of Emergency Medical Services at the Connecticut Department of Public Health. Presently the Chief of Service for Suffield Volunteer Ambulance Service and Emergency Management Director for the Town of Suffield serving a population of close to 16,000 residents spread over 42 square miles. Previously served as an Administrative Operations Supervisor for a large commercial EMS organization serving the City of Hartford and surrounding communities. Previous experience includes working in a variety of urban and rural environments and growing from the challenges each system presents.

Our Board of Directors

President - Andrew Wakefield
Dr. Wakefield is a neurosurgeon at Hartford Hospital. He specializes in minimally invasive spine surgery. He has been a very supportive member of the SVAA board of directors since 2009 and was elected president of the group in 2019.

Vice President - Jay Presser

Treasurer - Barbara Daley

Secretary - Jen Michalman

Director - Jack Muska

Director - Russ Sweeny

Director - Jackie Guzie

Director - Renae Ransdell

Director - Don Miner

Our Board of Trustees

Chair - Pat Bland
Shery Kreps
Katie Egan
Terry Mandirola
Gordon Stagg
Don Miner
Rebecca Spencer